Earth (Elemental #1) by Shauna Granger
Publisher: CreateSpace
Published:  May 2nd 2011
Paperback, 232 pages
Challenges: 100 Books in 2011, YA Series2011 Debut Author, A-Z Challenge

Shayna and her two best friends have the abilities to manipulate and control the four elements, earth, air, water and fire. While learning to hone their growing powers, they discover a new and malicious presence in their sleepy beach town. Someone is performing blood magic and threatens to expose their small magical community. So far only small animals have been slaughtered, but then the nightmares start. Shayna suffers nightmares of being chased and sacrificed only to wake up bloodied and bruised. She thinks her magical blood is the ultimate target for the final blood rite. When an innocent girl, Tracy, is kidnapped Shayna knows it’s only a ploy to draw her out; she can’t let someone die because of her.

“I am an Earth Elemental; my magic speaks to the dirt, plants and animals.”
Reading Earth is like taking an honest look at Mother Nature and how we are connected to it, including the unknown (paranormal).  While what I call ‘paranormal magic’ makes for an entertaining read, ‘earth’ magic is a part of literature that does not seem to be explored as much.  Shauna Granger has excelled at exploring this.  At the same time Granger has found the perfect balance of ‘earth’ magic and teenage reality – you can’t help but love Shayna’s emotional roller coaster in her attraction to Jensen:
I was trying with all my effort not to glance around. I had to be careful to keep my face neutral and not look like I was trying to watch the new guy and at the same time not look like I was trying not to watch him. It was a delicate balancing act that girls have been trying to perfect for generations. Some girls are better at it than others.
Shauna Granger’s ability in character development is phenomenal!  Each character, including secondary, are fleshed out perfectly – Granger does not rush to develop her characters, but takes her time, allowing them to show you who they are versus the writer telling you.  I love Shayna, Jodi and Steven – each one is very unique but would  not be the same without the other one.  I love how Granger made this essential to the plot and development.  I ALSO fell in love with their banter – she really made their friendship REAL. Granger’s style of writing also makes this read very enjoyable and timeless – her writing creates a wonderful and relaxing flow in which you are not rushed to read .  I really took my time devouring every page and word, and not because I could not understand her writing or the plot, but because I loved it everything about it THAT MUCH!
One of my favorite things in life is finding new authors who show great promise, especially when they their works are part of a series.  Shauna Granger’s Elemental series is one of those that every YA fan should read!
    My Rating:

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Shauna’s WebSite / Facebook / Twitter
    I don’t do well talking about myself. So as basics go, I have recently self-published my first book, Earth, a Young Adult Urban Fantasy novel. I plan to release the second book, Air, very shortly. I have been working on the Elemental Series for the last four years and plan for it to be a 5 book series. It was a hard decision to self-publish but it’s been an exciting and terrifying ride.

    And to my readers (or fans of my cover), I have beautiful bookmarks that I would love to share with you. If you’d like one, drop me a note with your contact info and I’d be happy to send you one!”

    Flash Giveaway
    Shauna is graciously giving away some amazing goodies for her amazing book!
    Each stop on the tour will be giving away an ebook copy of Earth. Simply comment on MY blog post to enter their giveaway.
    Comment on every blog’s post to be entered into the Grand Prize for a signed print copy of soon to be released Air and bookmark! Second Grand Prize is a signed print copy of Earth and a bookmark! To complete your entry, come back to her blog on Oct. 29th.
     
