If you haven’t already guessed, I’m a huge fan of Buffy The Vampire Slayer.  So it is with great pleasure that Christopher Golden is with us today!
So without further ado I give you Christopher Golden!
 
You have written many many novels, mainly in what can be called the ‘paranormal’ genre.  What attracts you to write these types of books?

 

I’ve loved stories about the supernatural my entire life.  They’re not the only kinds of stories I enjoy–I love mystery and fantasy and western and even stories about ordinary things–but stories of the supernatural are wonderful ways to explore both our beliefs about life and afterlife, and the ways in which dire circumstances often bring out the best in people.
 
 
All the characters in your Buffy The Vampire Slayer books are very witty.  You have created timeless word banter.  How do you do this? Do you have a book of ‘one liners’ already to use? Or have you even created one?  (hint hint – this would be a best seller!)

 

Nope.  Honestly, I often have to explain to people that I’m not that funny.  Sometimes I write characters who are funny, but personally, not so much.
 
 
Being an author of so many novels, how do you come up with so many different ideas? And where do you find the time to write them all down?

 

I’ve always been very fortunate in that I’ve never been short of ideas.  For every idea that finally becomes a novel or a story, there are three or four I’ll never get to tell.

 

When you’re not reading or writing, what do you do?

 

I try to spend any spare time with my family.  I have a wife and three children, and they make life very full.
 
 
Are you currently working on anything new that you can share?
 
I’m writing a trilogy of graphic novels with Charlaine Harris called CEMETERY GIRL and a new novella with Mike Mignola that must remain nameless for the moment.
 
 
Is there anything else you would like share, such as an interesting fact about yourself (just for fun!)?

 

In the bio in the back of my first novel, I noted that I enjoyed Cajun food, Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Fudge Brownie ice cream, and the music of the Allman Brothers Band.  That was seventeen years ago, but I still do. 
 
 
And lastly, what is your favorite thing about Halloween?
 
I’m tempted to say the candy, but what I love most about Halloween in New England is the crisp chill in the air and the slightly spooky edge that still exists when I see so many people wandering around my neighborhood in costumes, in the dark.
 
 
