I am very honored to have the amazing Courtney Rene with us today.  She is graciously participating in my first Halloween Bash with a list of her 
Favorite YA Paranormal Characters
First I wanted to say a quick thank-you to Patricia for having me over at her blog. I admit that I enjoy doing these types of lists.  Where else do I get to babble on about what I think?  So, onward…
1.  Sunny from Shadow Dancer, by Courtney Rene
Is it cheating to use my own characters?  Maybe.  But the list is my favorites and she really is my current favorite.  She is fun, and entertaining.  She tries very hard and although not everything works out perfectly for her, she still strives forward.  She is not love dopey and not overly antagonistic, which I seem to be seeing a lot of right now with female MC’s.  Why are we making females so nasty all of a sudden?  It’s not attractive.  It’s just not.  It doesn’t make them look strong and self-confident.  It just makes them seem mean.  But that’s only my take. 
2. Jacob Black from the Twilight series
Yes, I went there.  Jacob’s character had me from the beginning.  Even before he became a wolf, I was so team Jacob.  My main plus for him is that he is warm.  ALL THE TIME.  Since I am cold adverse (read this as loathing), this is a huge perk.  A nice 108 degrees, just waiting to warm you up.  Then you have the fact that he is genuinely a good person, strong in character, and loyal.  Yes maybe a bit destructive at times, but that is just the animal in him. Taming would be fun. 
3. Enna from Enna Burning by Shannon Hale
Enna has an fantastic power.  She can speak to fire. The power is so awesome that it begins to consume her from the inside.  But she is strong enough to contain it as well as take control of it.  She is a strong powerful chic and I love the fact that her character is seen in later books of this series. 
4. Drake from the Gone series by Michael Grant
He is evil, mean, and frightening.  His whip-tilian (is that a word?  No, but you still get the gist) arm is freaky and scary all at the same time.  Although he is a bit on the whack-job side, I still can’t wait to see what he will do next.  Creepy gone evil is how best to describe him.  Now and then you gotta have a good villain.  Even though he is not the main one of this series, he is awesome all the same. 
5. And last but not least, Reuben, from The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group, by Catherine Jinks
He is not the main character, but he was my favorite in this book.  He was crazy, and real, and angry all at the same time, all wrapped up in a heart of gold.  You gotta love werewolves now and then right?  Oh wait, maybe I have a thing for them.  More so than vamps anyway right now, at least in the YA genre. 
So there you have it, my current favorites in ya paranormal.  Of course, this list changes all the time, with new characters I find.  If you have any favorites of your own that you think I just have to check out, drop me a line.  I am always looking for a good read.  
Thank you so much Courtney for sharing!
I too secretly like a few of the Twilight characters (but that’s a secret!)
You can find Courtney Rene on her Website / Blog / Twitter
And don’t forget to buy her debut novel, Shadow Dancer 
(you can read my review here)
GIVEAWAY

Courtney is giving away a new copy of her amazing book, Shadow Dancer

RafflecopterSettings = { raffleID: ‘ZTQ1ZDdmMGE5NmRkN2UxMjE0MzJlOWM4ZWU1YmQ0Ojg=’};

You need javascript enabled to see this giveaway.

Sunny has a gift that she has no idea how to use, until she meets Leif, a boy from the kingdom of Acadia, on the other side of the shadows.

Leif teaches Sunny about Shadow Walkers and how to use her new found gifts. As they grow closer and their gifts grow stronger, a threat arrives. The Shadow Guard has been sent to bring Sunny back to Acadia, to determine if she is a threat to the king as the rightful ruler of Acadia.

As Leif and Sunny prepare to defend themselves, Sunny finds that Leif has also been sent to bring Sunny back to the kingdom but for very different reasons. As a battle for possession of Sunny wages, she is struggling to come to turns with her feelings of inadequacy regarding controlling her gifts as well as the hurt regarding the lies and deceit of everyone around her.

