Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: October 11th 2011
Paperback, 320 pages

GoodReads 

First I find out that my boyfriend is cheating on me. Then he’s pegged as the #1 suspect in a murder. And now he’s depending on me to clear his name. Seriously?

As much as I wouldn’t mind watching him squirm, I know that he’s innocent. So I’m brushing off my previously untapped detective skills and getting down to business. But I keep tripping over dead bodies and I’m still no closer to figuring out who did it. And what’s worse: all signs seem to point to me as the killer’s next victim.

I really need to pick a better boyfriend next time.

 Read along to help solve a murder mystery!  I was first drawn to this book by the cover (look at those eyes!) and then by the very engaging synopsis (genius!).  Hartley is a very fun character to read, as is the entire book, with witty and comical attitudes and lines.  Hartley races the bar is mystery novel characters, a genre of books I have stayed away from… until now.  Hartley takes matters into her own hands! She’s a ruling girl!! 

Gemma Halliday’s writing style is fun and exciting while remaining easy and simple.  This read will go by very very quickly, but not too quick that you are left feeling you weren’t given as much as you wanted.  Gemma Halliday literally demands your attention from the first sentence – but no spoilers, sorry. 

Deadly Cool‘s cast and Gemma Halliday’s writing and plot lines make this a wonderful break from the paranormal, vampires, werewolves, angels, and the dark side of life, offering a look into reality with a humorous twist.  A must read!

My Rating:

 

