Ever wonder what characters of a book think about each other, outside of the novel, their side of the story, or even how they feel about their creator/author?
Now you can!!
Today I am pleased to welcome Alex and Cole from Bitter End!!

Alex: What can I say? I love him. Even after…everything…I still love Cole. You know, he’s got his good side. He’s kind and generous and talented and he can be so romantic. If it wasn’t for this one stupid thing, we’d be perfect for each other. I always felt like I was his greatest passion, even when he was…well, you know…when things were really bad. I felt like he loved me, because he got so mad. If he didn’t love me, would he care enough to get mad?

Cole: I do love her. How could she even doubt it? Zack and Bethany got in the way. If they hadn’t been there all the time, things would have never gotten so dramatic. I mean, I know the parts that were my fault. I own those. I do. But I’m just saying, it all would’ve been so much easier if everyone would have just left us alone.
Alex: No, my friends never got in the way. He just doesn’t understand my relationship with Bethany and Zack. We’re close. We always have been. Zack’s not interested in me. Not that way. And I’m not interested in him, either. We’re best friends. I love him…but it’s like loving a brother, you know?
Cole: She said she loves him…?

Alex: See, he’ll just never get it. Can we talk about something else?

Cole: How do I feel about the story? How do you think I feel about it? Embarrassed? Yeah. Because all you’re getting is Alex’s side. I loved her. I still do love her. I had my reasons for doing what I did. And she wasn’t a total saint either, by the way. And I feel really bad about what happened. And I wish I could change it. But I’m not sure that shows in the story. It’s not very fair.

Alex: It’s fair. It’s a…it’s a fair story. I know he loved me. I tried to show that. And I loved him. And I think Jennifer Brown knew that. She knew that we both loved one another and that sometimes it all just got all messed up, but she also knew that it wasn’t my fault. He said that, didn’t he? He said that it was partly my fault. Yeah, I figured he would. But I’m learning the truth. The truth is no matter what went on between Cole and me, I never “asked for” what Cole did. But that can be hard to see when you’re all up in it. I was way up in it and at times I felt like I did ask for it, even though I know I didn’t. That’s just how it felt at the time. I hope that my story can keep someone else from getting way up in it. Cole’s not
the only one who was embarrassed by what happened between us. But to me it was…it was worth it to show my embarrassment. If it keeps this from happening to someone else.

You can order your copy of Jennifer Brown’s Bitter End and get to know Alex and Cole more!
When Alex falls for the charming new boy at school, Cole, a handsome, funny, sports star who adores her, she can’t believe she’s finally found her soul mate-someone who truly understands her and loves her for who she really is.

At first, Alex is blissfully happy. Sure, Cole seems a little jealous of her relationship with her best friends, Zack and Bethany, but what guy would want his girlfriend spending all of her time with another boy? But as the months pass, Alex can no longer ignore Cole’s small put-downs, pinches, or increasingly violent threats. As Alex struggles to come to terms with the sweet boyfriend she fell in love with and the boyfriend whose “love” she no longer recognizes, she is forced to choose – between her “true love” and herself.

