Publisher:  Harlequin Teen
Published:  December 29th 2009
Paperback, 279 pages

When Kaylee Cavanaugh screams, someone dies.

So when teen pop star Eden croaks onstage and Kaylee doesn’t wail, she knows something is dead wrong. She can’t cry for someone who has no soul.

The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad’s ironclad curfew and putting her too-hot-to-be-real boyfriend’s loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls: a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can’t possibly understand.
 

Kaylee can’t let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk….

Kaylee’s “new” life as a Bean Sidhe continues in My Soul to Save.  This time she is determined to help a Teen Pop Star, but not without the help of her friends: Nash (her Bean Sidhe boyfriend), Emma, and Todd (the ever so annoying but lovable Reaper).  My Soul to Save really stands out as a sequel, for many reasons.  The images created through Rachel Vincent’s writing are both uncanny and unique.  There were times I was “grossed out” by the Netherworld and its inhabitants (if you can call them that).  There were also times I felt like I was Kaylee herself; going through every emotion she was feeling at the moment.  

I was a bit wary about the premise of this plot, even though I loved the novel’s predecessor, My Soul to Take. I mean saving a Teen Pop Princess??? How annoying right? WRONG! She upheld some of the stereotypes that are given to Teen Pop Stars (annoying, superficial, mindless, etc.), but she broke them all by the end of the book.   

The character development was incredible.  Kaylee is still a very strong character, standing up for what she believes in, even if it could cost her her own life.  She also discovers more about what it means to be a Bean Sidhe and how to control her Scream, crucial for this novel.  Todd… what can I say about Todd…. He is unique in himself.  In My Soul to Take readers got a glimpse into Todd’s ‘reaper’ side as well as a bit of his ‘human’ side, but in My Soul To Save Todd’s ‘human’ side really shines.  Then there is Nash.  Even though I love Todd, I really love Nash’s character.  Just like Kaylee he is strong, standing by her side no matter what.  I cannot wait to see what happens with Kaylee’s and Nash’s relationship in the following books (–thre were quite a few ‘steamy’ scenes between these two!). One relationship in particular I hope to see more developed and expounded in the following novels is the one between Nash and Todd.  Todd constantly pushes Nash to the edge, and Nash purposely keeps Todd at a distance (both physically and emotionally), but it is clear that they have an unyielding loyalty to each other.  Rachel Vincent has surpassed all my expectations again.  She continues to show how important friendship and loyalty are, while putting others ahead of yourself and staying true to who you are without compromise. I for one cannot wait to read the next installment, My Soul to Keep.



My Rating:

Rachel Vincent’s HomePage, Blog, on Facebook, Twitter
Check out my Review of My Soul to Take, the first book of the Soul Screamers Series!
You can also get the whole series through  Amazon!
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=patricspartic-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0373210035&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=patricspartic-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0373210043&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=patricspartic-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0373210051&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=patricspartic-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0373210272&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=patricspartic-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B002F3PPVE&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=patricspartic-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B004AYD50E&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr
