I was reading up on some new blogs that I am now “following” and I came across an interview that The Sparrow Review blog did of Just Your Typical Book Blog through their bi-weekly meme “Under the Lamplight” [you can read the interview here].  I really liked one of the questions, simple and direct but very heavy: “What’s your opinion of books made into movies? Love ‘em or Hate ‘em?” I found myself answering this question too.  I think like many of us, I try to read the books before the movies come out.  If I see that I there is a movie coming out based off a book I go straight to my library or bookstore and pick up the book (and I’m a sucker for the Movie-tie-in Covers too). Of course not all movies are as good as the books, and sometimes the books aren’t as good as the movies (as blasphemous as that sounds). Then there are those that are just a tie and I love both the book and the movie.

Books that were WAY better than their movie:

The Time Traveler’s Wife – don’t get me wrong, I loved this movie but the book is so much more in depth and filled with so much emotion.  The Special Features of DVD actually has an interview with Eric Bana about how the books and movie are different and why some things were left out.  His interview really got across what I always feel about comparing movies and books – its damn near impossible to make the movies and the books the same, and they in true 2 completely different things.

The Twilight Series – That’s right… I said Twilight.  I had to include this one in with all the Twilight Hype going on right now.  I do love the movies, and looking at the gorgeous people on screen is definitely not a bad thing, but the books are just plain better.  I would imagine it would be very difficult to make a movie out of a book/series that is very internal as these are (Bella’s thoughts).

Movies that were better than their book: 

Angels & Demons – I tried really hard to get into this book, but I couldn’t even finish it. I honestly can’t even say why.  Something about the book just didn’t grab me.  I don’t think Tom Hanks was the best actor to play the main role – they just didn’t fit together.  HOWEVER, how can you go wrong with Ewan McGregor as a Naughty Priest?  (Love him!)
 

Books & Movies that tie: 

The Harry Potter Series – the books offer sooooo much more detail and the movies clearly leave things out…. but in the end I love both the movies and the books.   What can I say, it’s Harry Potter and Harry Potter is Awesome! 

The Painted Veil – I think the book and the movie tie for me because they are actually so different from each other.  The main plot is the same, but everything else is different.  Plus, Edward Norton happens to be one of my all time favorite actors.

The Notebook – This is a tie for me for the same reasons that The Painted Veil is…. while the book and movie are more similar they are still very different.  I also just couldn’t help but fall in love with the actors and characters in the movie. 

Some Book-into-Movies I’m looking forward to:
Of course there are a TON of other books, but I was hoping to find out what everyone’s opinions were… 
